I AM THE ABSOLUTE – Page #2

Pradeep Apte

Pradeep Apte Banner

I AM THE ABSOLUTE 

The end of a wanderer, based on the teachings of

Sri Nisargadatta Maharaj

By Pradeep Apte Banner

Line Divider

3. Consistently and with perseverance separate the ‘I am’ from ‘this’ or that’, just keep in mind the feeling ‘I am’.

All this is not as easy as it sounds it is hard work, your consistency and perseverance are keys to you success. Separate the ‘I am’ from ‘I am this’ or’ I am that’ or ‘I am so and so’ all these are add-ons and have been loaded onto you by others and society. All these appendages on the ‘I am’ maybe of some value in your day to day living, but if your goal or quest is for eternity, they are impediments. You will have to separate them from the ‘I am’ and just keep in mind your sense of ‘presence’ or the feeling ‘I am’.

4. Only the ‘I am’ is certain, it’s impersonal, all knowledge stems from it, it’s the root, hold on to it and let all else go.

Right from the day you came know that ‘you are’ to this day you still know that ‘you are’. All add-ons have come and gone, are transient, but the fundamental ‘I am’ has remained unchanged and is the only certainty. This ‘I am’ is impersonal, it’s common to everybody and wordless, the moment you came know that ‘you are’ you did not know any words or language, which came later. Based on this non-verbal ‘I am’ you could later on say verbally ‘I am’ in whatever language you were taught. From this small minute ‘I am’ further knowledge grew leaps and bounds to gigantic proportions. So all knowledge stems from the ‘I am’, it is very fundamental, the base, the origin, the root of everything. You have to hold on to this ‘I am’ and let everything else go.

5. The ‘I am’ is the sum total of all that you perceive, it’s time-bound, the ‘I am’ itself is an illusion, you are not the ‘I am’ you are prior to it.

Since the ‘I am’ is the continuous link throughout all the events in your life it quite obviously forms the sum total of all your perception. It is the very basis of your perception, no ‘I am’, no perception. This ‘I am’ is an illusion, for like a dream it has spontaneously appeared on you and one day it would disappear. All that appears and disappears cannot be true and since you are a witness to it you stand apart. You are not the ‘I am’ but prior to it.

To Be Continued

-2-

Line Divider

SOURCE:

Pradeep Apte Photo

Pradeep Apte Signature

Pradeep Apte Yahoo Email Button

Leave a Reply

